Posted by: The Chhamanator | September 16, 2008

Remembering Richard Wright

Pink Floyd founding member and keyboard player Richard Wright died Monday at the age of 65 after battling cancer, his spokesman said.

Wright wrote and sang several numbers from classic albums of the British progressive rock band, including “Dark Side of the Moon” and “Wish You Were Here.”

“The family of Richard Wright, founder member of Pink Floyd, announce with great sadness, that Richard died today after a short struggle with cancer,” said the spokesman.

“The family have asked that their privacy is respected at this difficult time.”


16th September, 2008 was a typical Tuesday morning for me. I woke up, had a bath, went to have food, talked to my girlfriend on the phone and since there is no class due to the preparation for Avishkar, our Institute’s technical festival, I then turned on my computer to play a game of Age Of Empires.

I then went online to check my mail, deleted the hundreds of spam cluttering my mailbox and then visited misual.com to see what’s happening in the world while I was asleep. This was when I discovered that Richard Wright, the founding member of Pink Floyd has passed away.

I became a Pink Floyd fan in the late 90s. This was before the internet and mp3 became popular. I was living in a hostel during that time and I spent most of the money my parents sent me buying Pink Floyd records. I think I have all their album except ‘Soundtrack from the film More’. Although they were old men by that time, I still think they are the coolest band in the world. In many ways, they are not the typical rockers you see. They have a relatively clean record with drugs (“It’s a mistake thinking that drugs supplied Pink Floyd with the inspiration, the ones who took drugs were the ones who came to see the shows.”) and women. They are not violent and do not dress in rags like your typical rocker either. They dress like they play their music, simple, smart and yet awesome at the same time.

The members of Pink Floyd are famous for their lack of attention seeking. In an industry where members come and go at a rate faster than you can say “psychedelic rock”, its amazing that two of the original members are still around after 42 years. Although not as popular and recognizable as Roger Waters or David Gilmour, it is actually Rick Wright and drummer Nick Mason who take the role of the glue that holds the pieces together. In fact Rick kept such a low profile that it’s actually difficult to know who he really is. This personality is reflected in his music. As Wikipedia mentioned:

Unlike his contemporaries Rick Wakeman, Tony Banks or Keith Emerson, he opted for solo playing only occasionally, notably in “Atom Heart Mother”, “Echoes”, “Any Colour You Like”, “Shine On You Crazy Diamond” Parts 1-5 and 6-9, “Welcome to the Machine”, “Dogs”, “Run Like Hell” and “Keep Talking”.


A self-taught keyboard player, it’s amazing how much Rick has achieved musically. Bandmate David Gilmour once said: “”In my view, all the greatest Pink Floyd moments are the ones where he is in full flow. No-one can replace Richard Wright – he was my musical partner and my friend.”

Its sad that he has gone to play his great gig in the sky.

Rest in peace, Rick. And thank you…….

(NB: The blog will have a black theme for a week in honor of Richard Wright. You can read Rick’s obituary written by Ian Youngs here. All images are from bbc.co.uk)

Responses

  1. I lo tap em lo maw?

  2. Tap love a, man an tap ngai hleinem.

  3. Burma sumdawng cd ka trick sak che kha i la dah tha em? 😛

  4. Ka cd 3 i trick zingah khan i trick tel alawm..

  5. ka kid hlui Lalchhanhima blog a ni em oooo???

    *hihihi*

  6. Ni chiang e. I boss hlui kha a ni e, Lalramhak

  7. Ka va ui tak he pa boral hi, a zai tam lo nain, a aw hi ngaihthlak nuam ka tihchi…


Leave a Reply

Categories

