Posted by: The Chhamanator | November 2, 2008

Latin for everyday use

I came across this on the MIT site and since I’m currently suffering from a case of lazyie assemia (the lazy ass syndrome), i thought I’d share some of them with you. See how many you can use in a week:

Non calor sed umor est qui nobis incommodat.
It’s not the heat, it’s the humidity.

Di! Ecce hora! Uxor mea me necabit!
God, look at the time! My wife will kill me!

Akbar si viveret, ad remum dareris.
If Akbar were alive, you’d be chained to an oar. (I love this one)

Quantum materiae materietur marmota monax si marmota monax materiam possit materiari?
How much wood would a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?

Animadvertistine, ubicumque stes, fumum recta in faciem ferri?
Ever noticed how wherever you stand, the smoke goes right into your face?

Si Hoc Legere Scis Nimium Eruditionis Habes
If you can read this you’re over-educated

Vacca foeda
Stupid cow

Mihi ignosce. Cum homine de cane debeo congredi.
Excuse me. I’ve got to see a man about a dog.

Raptus regaliter
Royally screwed (Memorize this, you might use it a lot)

Nihil curo de ista tua stulta superstitione.
I’m not interested in your dopey religious cult. (I wish Tom Cruise was here with me right now)

Noli me vocare, ego te vocabo.
Don’t call me, I’ll call you.

Nullo metro compositum est.
It doesn’t rhyme.

Non curo. Si metrum non habet, non est poema.
I don’t care. If it doesn’t rhyme, it isn’t a poem.

Fac ut gaudeam.
Make my day.

Braccae illae virides cum subucula rosea et tunica Caledonia-quam elenganter concinnatur!
Those green pants go so well with that pink shirt and the plaid jacket!

Utinam barbari spatium proprium tuum invadant!
May barbarians invade your personal space! (One of the coolest abuses ever)

Utinam coniurati te in foro interficiant!
May conspirators assassinate you in the mall!

Utinam logica falsa tuam philosophiam totam suffodiant!
May faulty logic undermine your entire philosophy!

Quo signo nata es?
What’s your sign?

Tam exanimis quam tunica nehru fio.
I am as dead as the nehru jacket.

Magister Mundi sum!
I am the Master of the Universe!

Prehende uxorem meam, sis!
Take my wife, please!

Nihil est–in vita priore ego imperator Indianus fui.
That’s nothing–in a previous life I was a Indian Emperor.

Vescere bracis meis.
Eat my shorts. (Dont have a cow, man)

Sic faciunt omnes.
Everyone is doing it.

Fac ut vivas.
Get a life.

There you have it. Memorize these lines and use them in your daily life. Your friends, family and co-workers will either be envious or think you are crazy. But hey, we take those risks everyday don’t we? And what’s life without a little risk, right? Meanwhile, I’ll be working on an original post and I promise it will be legen..wait for it…dary!! (Btw, I would appreciate if a lot if you take part in the poll below)

You can read the rest of the phrases form the MIT site.

Responses

  1. “Noli me vocare, ego te vocabo.”
    “Don’t call me, I’ll call you.”

    I think i’ll be using this one a bit..

  2. What happened? Got dumped again? πŸ™‚

  3. Fac ut vivas.
    Get a life.

    πŸ˜€

    Good ones though. I like the take my wife one! lolz

    πŸ™‚

  4. loa kiuehs khdfie

    I love you

  5. This is super funny!! My favorite, and the one I’m gonna really learn by heart – Utinam barbari spatium proprium tuum invadant! πŸ™‚

    Just kind of wondering what’s with all the Indian connotations though? Akbar, Nehru, Indian emperor — I can’t see Indians having this kind of humour, so it’s gotta be firangs…

  6. @Dave, thanks for the addition
    @Kima, how about “Raptus regaliter”? You may have to say it a lot since you are an Arsenal fan πŸ™‚
    @Jerusha, that one is one one of my favourites as well. Akbar was actually Caesar on the site and since I’ve already done some plagiarism anyway, I thought I’d change it to Akbar. The Nehru jacket is from the site though. Why don’t you GOOGLE it πŸ™‚

  7. Lehtawng i thiam em?


Leave a Reply

Categories

